Malaysia Announces Visa-Free Entry for Indian Citizens Starting December 1

Malaysia Announces Visa-Free Entry for Indian Citizens Starting December 1


In a significant announcement, Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim declared that Malaysia will waive entry visa requirements for Indian citizens visiting the country, effective December 1. During his address at the annual congress of his People’s Justice Party in Putrajaya on Sunday, Anwar highlighted that Indian nationals will be granted visa-free stays for up to 30 days. However, he emphasized that security screening procedures would still apply to ensure the safety of visitors.

In a bid to revitalize its tourism sector and spur economic growth, Malaysia is set to grant visa-free entry to citizens of China and India for stays of up to 30 days, effective from December 1, as revealed by Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim. The announcement, made during a speech at the People’s Justice Party congress, did not specify the duration of the visa exemption.

China and India, ranking as Malaysia’s fourth and fifth-largest source markets, are expected to benefit significantly from this move. The decision comes against the backdrop of a decline in tourist arrivals, with Malaysia recording 9.16 million arrivals between January and June this year, compared to 1.5 million from China and 354,486 from India during the same period in 2019, before the pandemic.

This strategic initiative mirrors efforts undertaken by neighboring Thailand, where visa exemptions for Chinese and Indian nationals have been implemented to boost the tourism sector and stimulate economic recovery. Presently, Chinese and Indian nationals are required to apply for visas to enter Malaysia.



List of visa-free countries for Indians

Thailand and Sri Lanka have recently joined the list of nations providing visa-free entry to Indians, with Malaysia set to follow suit from December 1. Malaysia’s decision is driven by the aim of bolstering its tourism industry.

Although the 25 countries permitting visa-free entry for Indians typically impose restrictions on the duration of stay, exceptions to this rule include Jamaica, Nepal, and the Palestinian Territories, where no specific conditions are enforced.

Here is the list of visa-free countries for Indians:

Countries Stay duration (in days)
Angola 30
Barbados 90
Bhutan 14
Dominica 180
El Salvador 90
Fiji 120
Gabon 30
Gambia 90
Grenada 90
Haiti 90
Jamaica Visa-free
Kazakhstan 14
Macao 30
Malaysia 90
Mauritius 90
Micronesia 30
Nepal Visa-free
Palestinian Territories Visa-free
Saint Kitts and Nevis 90
Senegal 90
Srilanka 30
St. Vincent and the Grenadines 90
Thailand 30
Trinidad and Tobago 90
Vanuatu 90